Civilization games FTW #Blogg100

#077 [LXXVII]
A Civilization game done right

Have you ever played some of Sid Meier’s Civilization games on the computer?

My Civilization history

I have. For me it started with Civilization I on the Amiga. Then in 1996 came Civilization II. One of the most addictive games ever produced. I could wake up a Saturday morning just to play few rounds. Then when the sun came down in the evening I was still, A: sitting in my underwear, very cold with a stiff neck, and B: Very hungry from not eating anything for the whole day ūüôā

So for me the best Civ computer game is Civilization Revolution. Because it’s very streamlined and therefore very short. Which means that I would not go a whole day without eating when playing it. Only 3-4 hours at max. They kept just the good parts.

Civilization boardgames

So it comes as no surprise that as a boardgamer we have long been searching for the perfect Civilization boardgame. There has been quite a few over the years. Some bad and some quite good but very long. Here are some of the games that I have played: History of The World, ¬†Tempus, Civilization, Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization, Mare Nostrum, Rise of Empires, Runewars, Uruk, Roll Through the Ages: The Bronze Age, 7 Wonders, After the Flood, Age of Mythology, Antike, Colonial, Eclipse,¬†Archipelagio, Assyria, Alien Frontiers, Sid Meier’s Civilization: The Board Game.

We had our hopes up Fantasy Flight games epic and official boardgame version: Sid Meier’s Civilization: The Board Game. But to me it fell flat with a bad combat system and a horrible army build mechanic.

Terra Mystica

But this winter something happened. 2 very promising Civ game where released at Essen spiel. The first I got my hands on and played was Terra Mystica. It’s a very good game with lot’s of interesting mechanics and many difficult decisions each turn. The interaction is low and it’s not quite the traditional Civ game. It plays beautifully and is new favorite boardgame of mine.

Clash of Cultures

Tonight I finally got to play the second game. Namely Clash of Cultures. For me the best part in all the classic Civ games are the early part before anyone develops gunpowder and more modern technologies. In Clash of Cultures you only play in a antique civilization and that is perfect for me. This game captures all the classic ingredients for a Civ game. And does so in a very streamlined way with lots of tough choices.

I have link to a gameplay video in my previous episode: #081 [LXXXI] The Future is a co-op game we all can play and win!

Time will tell if it is the the game I think it is for me. Me and Martin played a 2 player short game tonight.

Civilization games FTW!

@LordSillion

Game end. Martin won with as the yellow player

Game end. Martin won as the yellow player

I came in second as red

I came in second as red

I had mush less science advances than Martin

I had less science advances than Martin

Martin is a happy camper

Martin is a happy camper

One thought on “Civilization games FTW #Blogg100

Leave a Reply

