Rethink Civilization, SXSW & The Matrix

The last month I have been following both Social Media Week and SXSW. I think it’s no coincidence that Don Tapscott is doing the opening Keynote to both. He gives a fantastic presentation about how internet and social media will change our society with a new paradigm shift. The Network Society

Luckily for you the one from SMW is available online right now. Just go and see it.

http://new.livestream.com/smwnychange/TapscottRe-Civilization

Some thoughts about what he says.

The Future is not something to be predicted.
It is to be achived.

Or as it’s put in Terminator: No Fate but what we make. We can either sit in our sofas watching TV and waiting for the future to happen or we get up and Make it happen.

Collaboration, Transparency, Sharing, Interdependence, Integrity

These are the 5 keywords in building a new Society. We need to work together towards a common goal. Collaborate between nations, companies and humans alike. We need to share everything we do and all the knowledge we have. Being completely open and stand for all our actions.

Every human being has the responsibility to find the truth for one self – Rainn Wilson

I also saw Rainn Wilson speak at SXSWi and he had some very insightful things to say about being one self and discussing lifes big questions. He is involved with this on the conecpt Soulpancake. What took away from this was:

–Everyone should have an awesome experience that changes their perspective on life. Like looking down from orbit.

–Every human being has the responsibility to find the truth for one self

–Always project your Residual Self Image on the web and in real life

Al Gore & Sean Parker

SXSWi ended with a very inspiring conversation between Al Gore and Sean Parker about how we now have a opportunity to take Democracy back from the corporations that now run the global economy. We should do this under #OccupyDemocracy tag on twitter. Al Gore also talk about another burning issue: To stop the Climate Change and join up under the Climate Reality Project

Our Homeworld

Also at SXSWi was Jane McGonigal. Over a year ago I decided that the time was ripe go on the quest that I have dreamt of since I was little. I then stumble upon Jane and here inspiring presentations. She sent me in the right direction! And here I am … figuring out how I can get everybody else … living on this planet … to join in on the Epic quest that lies ahead of us.

We need make it our top mission and priory to go on this epic quest. The quest to make Earth a planet we will be proud to call our homeworld.

Our only Homeworld.

My name is Sillion

Suddenly I got an urge to revisit The Matrix. (2 hours later) What a Movie ūüôā

I can really identify with the movie The Matrix. Where the concept that everything we experience are inside our head, are really put on it’s head. (And for those who have never got it straight: They never leave the Matrix in any of the 3 movies. Everything including Zion and the Dystopian future are just constructs inside the dream that are the Matrix.) If we work together we are capable of shaping this to any world we like it to be. The Mold is still soft.

So I end you with the last quote from the movie to ponder over … as I’m listening to one of the best songs ever made: Eat me, Drink Me

“I know you’re out there. I can feel you now. I know that you’re afraid… you’re afraid of us. You’re afraid of change. I don’t know the future. I didn’t come here to tell you how this is going to end. I came here to tell you how it’s going to begin. I’m going to hang up this phone, and then I’m going to show these people what you don’t want them to see. I’m going to show them a world without you. A world without rules and controls, without borders or boundaries. A world where anything is possible. Where we go from there is a choice I leave to you.”

This is my Residual Self Image! What is yours?

/Michael Sillion
Follow me at Twitter:
http://twitter.com/#!/LordSillion

2 thoughts on “Rethink Civilization, SXSW & The Matrix

  1. Pingback: What is Movie Magic to you? #Blogg100 | The Spring is my Love

Leave a Reply

